The Rudraksh is a dried seed from a tree known botanically as Elaeocarpus Ganitrus. The name itself connects the ornament to Lord Shiva; the term is a combination of two words,
Rudra (the annihilator form of Shiva) + Aksh (eye) = Rudraksh


Though this identity is known for its fury, the rudraksh is worn to balance one’s physical and mental health. It is responsible for holding our feral side inside itself (Rudra) to help the rational side blossom and bring forth clarity.


There has been a myth regarding who can wear the rudraksh; it has been associated with sages and ascetics but anyone respective of age, gender, religious background and social status can wear one. Each kind of rudraksha has its intrinsic benefits in specific areas of life, and for specific people too.

They are differentiated on the basis of Mukha, which are the vertical ‘lines’ or clefts on the surface of the seed. Mukhas range from 1-21 but the more common ones are 1-14, the latter ones being rarer mutations.


• The Ekmukhi rudraksh represents the omnipresent Shiva himself and is advised only for sages as it symbolizes detachment from the tangible world to embark on one’s spiritual journey.
• The Dwimukhi is symbolic of Shiva’s Ardhanareshwar form wherein he unites his masculine and feminine energies, and it is recommended for married people as it supports their bond.
• The Trimukhi contains one’s fire element and helps one relieve stress that may have been caused by their past and improve their temper.
• The Chaturmukhi is associated with Brihaspati (Jupiter) and his knowledgeable self. It is recommended for those looking to rejuvenate their intellect, and also work on their timidity.
• The Shanmukhi (6-faced) is appropriate for children under 14 years of age to supplement their mental development and physical growth.
• The Saptamukhi is associated with Laxmi and is recommended for those in search of new financial avenues or earning opportunities

• The Ashtamukhi, also called the Vignaharta, symbolizes Ganesh and helps clear the obstacles in one’s path.
• The Navamukhi helps the wearer boost confidence and gives a stronger willpower. It is symbolic of Goddess Durga
• The Dashamukhi is associated with Vishnu, and helps the wearer maintain their calm amid chaos. Like the Navamukhi, it boosts self-esteem.
• The Ekadashmukhi is believed to give the wearer a sense of objective judgment and immense control over his senses and vocabulary
• The Dwadashmukhi is known for its benefits of vitality and radiance. It is associated with the bright side of the Sun and gives the wearer a sense of determination.
• The Gauri Shankar (13-faced) is recommended for everyone above 14 years to maintain inner balance- it is believed to balance one’s Ida and Pingala nadis (lunar and solar energy channels) that are responsible for vitalizing the seven chakras.
• The Chaturdashmukhi is associated with Hanuman, and hence dedication and strength.
• The Panchadash and Shodash are recommended for alleviation of physical ailments, the former being associated with the Anahata (heart) Chakra and helping the wearer cope with depression, as well as cardiovascular and respiratory issues.


The most common out of all these is the Panchmukhi rudraksh, which is known to have a calming effect on the mind and increase in concentration power. It also enhances one’s memorizing abilities.


But we need to keep in mind that wearing of a rudraksh is a commitment, and that it should be done according to the prescribed customs, it must be consecrated before wearing/ using it. Note that the size doesn’t affect the powers of the ornament but how we maintain it. It should be conditioned and energized before wearing; tradition guides the wearer to first soak the seed in ghee for 24 hours, and later in whole milk for the same amount of time. It should be wiped with a clean cloth before use. It needs to be conditioned and energized every six months to a year.


Akin to a Brahmin’s sacred thread, the rudraksha becomes a part of the wearer’s body and aligns itself to that person’s own energies. Once the oath is taken, it is not advisable to put it away like jewelry or share it with anyone. When performing personal hygiene routines, one can hang it in a clean place or wrap it in a soft cloth to keep it safe from damage.


Until now we talked about the rudraksh in a pendant-like form. Now we move to rudraksh rosaries (jaap mala), which have a similar method of conditioning. A general chanting ritual consists of 108 reiterations, but it isn’t necessary that a rudraksh mala should contain 108 beads. The recommended length of a rosary is 84 beads, as 108 beads elongate the mala and increase the chances of it coming into contact with other objects.


May the Rudraksha guide you towards stability and calmness.


Phone No. : 91+ 749 9846 591


Address: Plot D-2, Telco Soc no 14, Sector 24, Kanch ghar chowk, Pradhikaran, Nigdi, Pune 411044

Connect Us

Follow by Email


Disclaimer: Astrological services are based on information given by clients and the Astrologer (author) is not liable and responsible for any correctness of analysis or any loss occurred due to the analysis as the same is given basis on the planet status as of the day of prediction.

error: Content is protected !!